Contact City of Lafayette

Since its incorporation in 1968, Lafayette has been governed by five non-paid council members who are elected at large for four year terms. The mayor is selected from the Council and serves a one-year term. The Council usually meets the second and fourth Monday nights of each month at the Community Center, 500 St. Mary’s Road. An appointed City Manager serves as chief executive officer and is responsible for the day-to-day administration of city affairs.


Council Members

Mike Anderson –  Mayor
Don Tatzin – Vice Mayor
Cameron Burks
Mark Mitchell
Ivor Samson

City Offices Phone

(925) 284-1968

For messages to all Council members

Individual council/staff members can be reached via e-mail using the format below
first initial + last (e.g., to reach Mike Anderson you would type “”)

City Offices Contact Info

3675 Mt. Diablo Blvd., #210
Lafayette, CA 94549-1968
(925) 284-1968


General Reception 284-1968
Steven Falk, City Manager 284-1968, fax: 284-3169
Tracy Robinson, Administrative Services Director 299-3227
Jennifer Wakeman, Financial Services Manager 299-3213
Joanne Robbins, City Clerk 299-3210

Community Development

Hours: 8:30-11:30am & 1:30-4:30pm, Monday through Friday
Niroop Srivatsa, Planning & Building Director 284-1976
Tony Coe, City Engineer 284-1951
Mike Moran, Public Works Director 299-3214

Public Works Hotline (to report problems)

299-3259 (NOTE: If you observe illegal dumping in creeks & storm drains or accidental spills on roads, call Contra Costa Hazardous Materials Division 646-2286)

Maintenance Yard


Police Services

Eric Christensen, Police Chief 283-3680
Cathy Surges-Moscati, Community Services Officer 283-3680
Emergency (24 Hours) 911
Police Dispatch (24 Hours) 284-5010
Police Business Office 283-3680

Contra Costa County Consolidated Fire District

Emergency Calls 911
Emergency for Deaf or Hearing Impaired 930-5577
Weed Abatement 930-5500, ext. 581
Fire Prevention Bureau 930-5500

Lamorinda School Bus Program

Juliet Hansen, Program Manager  299-3216 OR  299-3215, Fax  283-2181

Parks & Recreation

Jonathan Katayanagi, Director 284-2232 fax: 284-1549
Maureen Neumann, Senior Services 284-5050
Teen Programs 284-5815

Building & Grading Permits

First, go to the Lafayette Planning Services Division, then to Contra Costa County Building Inspection Office at:

3685 Mt. Diablo Blvd., Suite 120
Lafayette, CA 94549-3790

Monday-Thursday and 2nd & 4th Fridays: 8:00am-12:00pm and 1:00-4:30pm. (Closed during lunch hour)
NOTE: Closed 1st & 3rd Fridays.